Essays, Poetry, Observations, Etc.

You know

In inevitabiliy, life, poem, reflections on October 2, 2013 at 12:10 am

You know, I am going to die.
Maybe not soon, but I am going to die.
Not afraid of it, I would just like to avoid it as long as possible.
Would like it to not be too messy or painful.
I avoid certain risks in my life, like jumping out of perfectly good airplanes.
I don’t smoke, I drink seldomly and/or in moderation.

And for every risk I avoid, for every possible death I avoid,
there is another waiting for me,
because I can’t cheat death.

Meanwhile, I am not going to live in a fallout shelter
while only eating foods that,
although tasteless, will “maybe” extend my life.

A boring, tasteless life may suit someone cringing at the thought of their eventual demise,
but not I.

I live my life with relative pleasure,
moderating because I have no desire to rush things,
yet, indulging when I want, because life is too short not to.

And so, to each their own.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

