Essays, Poetry, Observations, Etc.

Typical Monday

In Uncategorized on December 5, 2011 at 10:31 am

Typical Monday.

I feel motivated to do something meaningful, to write something worthwhile, but I don’t have a clue as to what… much less where to begin.

I suppose I should concentrate on my work, but my students are all on task and none need any help right now.

I’ve eaten my usual bowl of reasonably high fiber cereal soaked in my guilty pleasure of chocolate soy milk. I try to kick start my brain with heart palpitating, double strength coffee, but it only grows cold as I linger over it trying to seek solace in it.

The weather outside is making the point that winter, such as it is here in Houston, is finally upon us. I stare out the window at the grey skies. Even the rain is indecisive, vacillating between a light drizzle and the occasional sudden downpour.

Existence seems to be on hold while some feckless god decides what will become of it.

And in the midst of it I sit, staring at a blank screen, trying to will words upon it.

The only thing I seem capable of generating is melancholic poetry… so I guess the morning isn’t a total loss.

Leave a Reply

