Essays, Poetry, Observations, Etc.

Changes

In change, inevitabiliy, life, love, memories, time on October 18, 2011 at 1:39 am

 

There are moments in the world and life when the universe changes. Moments when everything you thought you knew and everything that you thought was important shifts irrevocably.

The birth of my daughter was just such a moment.

My life, up to that point, was placid and comfortable. I was pretty sure I was reasonably happy. I suppose I was.

And then came the birth of my daughter.

My life prior to she who entered my life seemed to stretch forever. There was no rush, there was no haste, simply time to fill with all the activities we think are important when the focus is only on ourselves.

And then my little girl arrived.

Since that singular moment in time, my life seems compressed. It seems like only yesterday I was changing diapers without end. I can’t seem to buy shoes fast enough to fit her feet. I live my life at breakneck speed racing to keep up with the girl that changed my life the moment she was born.

First one word, then two, and now sentences and questions that seem to have no end come from those lips that only yesterday came into my life.

Since then, 13 years have roared past and just when I thought I could handle it all, just when I thought I’d made peace with the speed that she was growing, my life changed again.

As I stood in the parish hall, I turned to look for my little girl… and did not find her.

Instead, my universe changed.

My life, once again, shifted irrevocably.

For instead of my little girl I saw a young woman.

And, once again, nothing will ever be the same.

 

 

Leave a Reply

